Coronavirus Preparedness and Updates

During the last 24 months, Coppin State University has followed the science, and used a care-filled approach to protect the health and well-being of our students, faculty, and staff from COVID-19 and its health effects.  Coppin State University has succeeded with its efforts; our University has reported an average positivity rate at or below the surrounding city and counties, since the beginning of the pandemic.   

Beginning Monday, March 7th, Coppin State University will transition to a mask optional campus. This shift in policy is prompted by changing conditions with respect to COVID-19, with improved positivity rates, case rates, and hospitalizations in Maryland and the City of Baltimore, and reflective of updated guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  

On March 2nd, I led a productive conversation with the campus community in which we heard a range of perspectives, ranging from excitement about the change, to apprehension about lifting our mandate. Managing personal health and well-being always involves responsibility and accountability on the part of individuals. Members of the community who wish to continue wearing masks on campus to safeguard their personal safety are fully supported and encouraged to do so. At this time, there is no need for Coppin State University to mandate mask-wearing on campus. 

Masking will still be required when entering the health center, and when undergoing COVID-19 testing. The University’s COVID-19 Task Force will review the data collected after Spring Break and make an informed decision about frequency of required COVID-19 testing, soon after.   

I would like to thank Eagle Nation for its willingness to stand together and do what is necessary to help return our campus to a vibrant place where we learn and grow together. I remain committed to doing what is necessary to keep the Coppin State University community safe, while also moving us forward and onto new heights. 
 

Dr. Anthony L. Jenkins 
President, Coppin State University 

Health Awareness for the CSU Community

Being prepared is critical to Coppin State University’s readiness to prevent community spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19). To address this public health concern, this website is developed to provide a cohesive CSU voice to strategies implemented to decrease the spread, the implications on travel arrangements, and steps taken to work in conjunction with the guidelines provided by the University System of Maryland (USM), the local health department, state, and federal entities. The information presented represents our commitment to our mission rooted in social responsibility, civic, and community engagement. We remain committed to the health and safety of the Coppin Community.

Daily Prevention and Preparedness

Commonly Reported Symptoms

Commonly reported symptoms of COVID-19 infection include fever, cough, shortness of breath, and increased respiratory rate. It is believed that most infected people will develop symptoms two to 14 days after they were exposed (source: Maryland Department of Health).

What To Do If You Experience Symptoms

If you develop or have symptoms of coronavirus (COVID-19) including fever, cough, or respiratory symptoms and have recently traveled to an area with ongoing spread, plan to seek health care immediately by visiting your designated health care provider or the Community Health Center located at 2601 West North Avenue in the Health and Human Services Building. Call ahead to let the healthcare provider know about your recent travel or community-related contact. The Community Health Center phone number is 410-951-4188. Avoid contact with others until you have been evaluated by a health care provider. The healthcare professional will work with the Baltimore City public health department in regard to testing guidelines for COVID-19.

The guidelines from Ready.gov (2020) include limiting the spread of germs and preventing infection by:

  • Avoiding close contact with people who are sick.
  • When you are sick, keeping your distance from others to protect them from getting sick too.
  • Covering your mouth and nose with a tissue when coughing or sneezing. It may prevent those around you from getting sick.
  • Washing your hands often will help protect you from germs.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose or mouth.
  • Practicing other good health habits. Get plenty of sleep, be physically active, manage your stress, drink plenty of fluids, and eat nutritious food.

Resources for Additional Information

Coppin State University Resources

Additional information may be found at the CSU Public Safety, Emergency Procedures website.

Please feel free to call the CSU Community Health Center at 410-951-4188 should you need health care assistance or a Health Care service provider. More information about the Community Health Center can be found at https://www.coppin.edu/chc.

To learn more about CSU’s response to the coronavirus (COVID-19), connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram.

Any questions related to Coppin State’s COVID-19 preparations and protocols can be submitted to COVID-19@coppin.edu.

COVID-19 Task Force

Dr. Anthony L. Jenkins, President

Angela G. Galeano, Project Manager

COVID-19 Task Force Members
Name Title E-mail Address
Barland, Karen Registrar kbarland@coppin.edu
Bolden, Errol Professor, DSW ebolden@coppin.edu
Brezinski, Andrew Director of Creative Services abrezinski@coppin.edu
Byrd, Marcus Director of Financial Aid mbyrd@coppin.edu
Carter, Dameon Chief of Campus Safety damecarter@coppin.edu
Carter, Derek Director of Athletics decarter@coppin.edu
Covington, Ericka Faculty Senate President ecovington@coppin.edu
Curbeam, Dionne Deputy CIO dcurbeam@coppin.edu
Danik, Stephen VP, Administration & Finance sdanik@coppin.edu
Darden, Shavon Associate Director sdarden@coppin.edu
Davis, Cataria Associate Professor, HIM cadavis@coppin.edu
Early, Lisa Associate VP, CHRO learly@coppin.edu
El-Haggan, Ahmed VP, Chief IT Officer aelhaggan@coppin.edu
Evans, Justin SGA President jevans13@studentcoppin.onmicrosoft.com
Fraling, Matthew Legal Counsel mfraling@coppin.edu
Gaines, Tashawna Lieutenant tgaines@coppin.edu
Galeano, Angela Chief of Staff agaleano@coppin.edu
Ghee, Mark Technology Manager mghee@coppin.edu
Green, Synethia Program Specialist sygreen@coppin.edu
Gregory, Sadie Dean, College of Business srgregory@coppin.edu
Humbert, Joshua VP, Institutional Advancement jhumbert@coppin.edu
Jenkins, Anthony President anjenkins@coppin.edu
Lewis, Leontye Provost llewis@coppin.edu
McNeil, Jinawa Director of Admissions jmcneil@coppin.edu
Murray, Tracey Dean, College of Health Professions tmurray@coppin.edu
OBryant, Beverly Dean, CBSS bobryant@coppin.edu
Oliver, Yvonne Staff Senate President yoliver@coppin.edu
Owens, Mary Dean, CASE mowens@coppin.edu
Person, Nichole Associate Athletics Director nperson@coppin.edu
Pertee, Kevin Director, Residence Life kpertee@coppin.edu
Thomas, Roy Assistant VP, Facilities rothomas@coppin.edu
Wonsey, Jacquelyn Director, Housing jwonsey@coppin.edu