Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

The Coppin State University Faculty Senate is a representative body of faculty who work together to advocate for faculty welfare and representation, as well as inform University governance. 

As a representative body, we:

  • serve as principle body representing the faculty voice in Shared Governance at the institution
  • Provide faculty representation on other University shared governance bodies
  • Advise the University President and all other University constituents
  • Advocates and promotes the general faculty welfare
  • Work collectively to guarantee procedural and substantive due process to each faculty member with essential fairness to all
  • Support academic freedom for faculty
  • Liaise with Coppin State University Faculty Body and the Council of University System Faculty
  • Cooperate with other existing faculty organizations.

Visit the Faculty Senate SharePoint site and learn more about the Senate.



Faculty Senate meets from 1:30 - 3:30 pm on the 1st Wednesday of every month. 

2020-2021 Executive Committee

  • President, Ericka N. Covington
  • Vice-President, Christa Gilliam
  • Secretary, Michael Klima
  • Treasurer, F Michelle Richardson
  • Parliamentarian, Melissa Buckley
  • At-Large Member, Hany Sobhi
  • At-Large Member, Ihuoma Ezebuihe


Harriett Kargbo Instructional Leadership and Professional Development
Michael Kilma


Stephen Providence Mathematics and Computer Science
Hany Sobhi Natural Sciences
Thavamani Rajapandi Natural Sciences
Sean Brooks Mathematics and Computer Science
Vanessa Jackson Dance

An'Nita Moore-Hebron Nursing


Aerian Tatum Health Information Management
Patience Ebuwei Health Information Management
Mona Calhoun (Alt.) Allied Health

Liangjun Yun Accounting and Management Information Systems
Ericka Covington

Management and Marketing

F. Michelle Richardson Sports and Entertainment Management

Latrice Curtis Library

Ericka Covington
Aerian Tatum
Sabrina Taylor (Alt.)

Faculty Senate Resources