Curriculum Standards and Policy Committee

The Curriculum Standards and Policy Committee (also referred to as CSPC or the Curriculum Committee) makes academic standards and policy recommendations to the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs. Specifically we make recommendations regarding:

  • Academic policies and programs in keeping with the philosophy and mission of the University and with the policies of the Board of Regents of the University System of Maryland
  • Policies, standards, procedures for admission to the University, to special programs, and to majors
  • General departmental standards for retention and for graduation
  • Operational definitions for letter grades
  • Guidelines for all university-wide or out-of-class testing programs



Please note: we do not meet during summer months or in January.

Executive Committee Meeting Dates

The Executive Committee meets the second Wednesday of the following months from 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

  • March 13, 2024
  • April 10, 2024
  • May 8, 2024
  • September 11, 2024
  • October 9, 2024
  • November 13, 2024
  • December 11, 2024

Regular Meeting Dates

Regular meetings are on the third Wednesday of each month from 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

  • February 21, 2024 (via Teams)
  • March 20, 2024 (via Teams)
  • April 17, 2024 (via Teams)
  • May 15, 2024 (In-Person)


The Coppin State University chapter has both broad and specific purposes we work to fulfill. 

Our Broad Purposes

  • Support the policies and goals of the AAUP
  • Promote the interests of higher education and research
  • Increase the usefulness and standards, ideals, and welfare of the academic professions

Our Specific Purposes

  • Defend academic freedom at Coppin State University
  • Encourage faculty participation in governance at Coppin
  • Protect and advance the professional status and interests of all faculty members at Coppin State University

Please reference our chapter bylaws for additional objectives and purposes.

CSPC Proposal Submissions Due Dates

Submit proposals via email no later than 5:00 pm on the first Wednesday of each month.

  • March 6, 2024
  • April 3, 2024
  • May 1, 2024


Chair: Dr. Claudia Nelson

Vice Chair: Dr. F. Michelle Richardson

Secretary: Dr. Erika Smith

Parliamentarian: Dr. Melissa Buckley

Advisor and Registrar: Ms. Karen Barland

Administrative Assistance: Ms. Deborah Stone


The CSU General Education Program Sub-Committee Dr. Yolanda Savoy, Chair

The CSU New Program, Minors, and certificates CSU/MHEC logistics Sub-Committee Members: Michael Bowden and Rolande Murray, PhD

The Academic Program Review Sub-Committee (To Be Formed)