Division of Institutional Advancement

CSU Development Foundation

Speak to
Briana Marine
Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Miles Connor Building, 3rd Floor
(410) 951-3801

The role of the Foundation is to encourage, facilitate, and promote the growth, progress, and general welfare of Coppin State University. The foundation has established as its primary mandate the acquisition of scholarship gift income to respond to the needs of worthy students seeking a college degree at Coppin.

Submission Guidelines

The Coppin State University Development Foundation (CSUDF) is a separate 501 (c)(3) not-for-profit corporation governed by a Board of Directors. The Executive Director of the CSUDF is charged with the responsibility of overseeing the submission of any proposal that carries the CSUDF name. Faculty and Staff wishing to submit a proposal for grant funding utilizing the non-profit status of the CSU Development Foundation are required to adhere to the following process.

A copy of the full proposal and project budget should be submitted to the Executive Director (ED) for review and approval. The ED will review the proposal and provide feedback for suggested changes, if necessary, to enhance the proposal. The project budget will be reviewed in conjunction with the CSUDF Controller to ensure sufficiency.

The review and approval, with suggested changes if necessary, should take no more than 48 hours. Please provide sufficient advance notice for review request and for any documentation needed to accompany the proposal submission such as annual budgets, audits, tax exempt status, board member listing.

Proposals submitted under the auspices of the University (which will subsequently be administered by the University's Finance Office) do not need to be reviewed by the CSU Development Foundation.

The goal of this process is to add a layer of review that can help improve the submission, while ensuring against duplication and fulfilling the fiduciary responsibility to the CSUDF and the Board of Directors.

Please contact the Division of Institutional Advancement with any questions on extension 3800.

Board Members

Alicia Ritchie ’01, Esq.

Principal, Miles & Stockbridge P.C.
Member Since 2012

Olympia Scatliffe, CPA

Audit Manager, Baltimore City Public Schools
Member Since 2012

Stephen Johnson ‘00, Esq

Partner, Lydecker │ Diaz
Member Since 2015

Patricia Murray-Newby

Finance Committee
P.D. Murray & Associates, LLC, President
Member since 2016

Kimberly Robinson, Esq.

Chair/Governance Committee 
Regional Director, State and Government Affairs, Cigna
Member Since 2015

John Walters

Chair, Development Committee
CEO & Founder, Walters Relocations Inc.
Member Since 2012

Debbie Bragg

President, Bragg Beckwell Associates
Member since 2018

Sadie Gregory

Dean, College of Business, Coppin State University
Member Since 2018

Jemal Griffin ‘96

Senior Associate Athletics Director, Student-Athlete Welfare and Development
University of St. Thomas
Member Since 2018

Sean Malone

Harris Jones & Malone Law Group
Member since 2022

Sonia Suber ‘89

Vice President, Information Systems and Technology Customer Relationship Management, Sodexo
Member Since 2018

Ex-Officio and Staff

Joshua E. Humbert
Vice President for Institutional Advancement


Alexus Better
Executive Administrative Assistant II