Office of Planning and Assessment

Coppin State University Quick Facts

Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Health and Human Services Bldg.
(410) 951-6281

Founded in 1900, Coppin State University (CSU) is a comprehensive Historically Black Institution (HBI) originally founded for teacher education. Named in honor of Fanny Jackson Coppin, an outstanding African American educator, Coppin has reaffirmed its dedication to excellence in teaching and student success.

2023 CSU Quick Facts


The University offers a multigenerational learning environment, nationally recognized for community engagement. Serving Baltimore residents as well as students from around the world, Coppin State proudly produces analytical, socially responsible, lifelong learners. An historically black institution founded in 1900, Coppin offers 34 undergraduate and 14 graduate degrees, along with 15 certificate programs and one doctorate degree.

Coppin prepares its students to be competitive in regional and global markets through its commitment to quality programs in teacher education, criminal justice, business, social and behavioral sciences, information technology, nursing, allied health, health information management, Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM), fine and performing arts, and liberal arts. The University's state-of-the-art Science and Technology Center (STC) houses STEM programs, and provides facilities for research through a technology-based learning environment anchored in West Baltimore. Coppin's partnerships generate graduates who make lasting impact on Baltimore communities and regions beyond. The University manages Coppin Academy High School, a chartered public school in Baltimore City.


Coppin State participates in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) as well at the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I - baseball, basketball, track, bowling, tennis, volleyball, softball, eSports.


Coppin State University is nationally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and is a Carnegie Master's Comprehensive (MA-I) Institution. The University’s programs reflect excellence in discipline- specific accreditations from the following agencies:

  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP);
  • Commission on Nursing Education (CCNE);
  • Council for the Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP);
  • Council on Social Work Education (CSWE);
  • Commission on Accreditation of Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM); and
  • Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP).