Student Government Association | Coppin State University

Student Government Association

Student Government Association

Purpose of the Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) shall serve as the supreme governing body of the undergraduate student population. The general purpose of the SGA shall be to:

  • Provide for the broad involvement and effective representation of all undergraduate students.
  • Promote communication and relationships between the administration, students, faculty, alumni and surrounding community.
  • Advocate for the advancement, general freedom and welfare of the student body.
  • Guarantee an active and intimate student voice in student and university decisions.
  • Manage funds derived from the student activity fee to sponsor events that promote the intellectual, cultural, political and social development of the student population.
  • Serve as a mechanism whereby student may properly discuss opinions, views, and aspirations with the expectation that they will be acted upon in the appropriate manner.
  • Preserve ideals and traditions in order to promote school spirit, encourage school pride and motivate the improvement of the campus.
  • Work to defend and preserve the rights and privileges of student.
  • Execute to the fullest extent the authority, responsibilities and duties thus entrusted.
  • Engage in all necessary steps to protect the welfare of the student body.


Officers for 2019/2020


President: Miss Crystal Chukwu
Phone: (410) 951-1238

Monday: 3p to 5p

Tuesday: 2p to 5p

Thursday: 10a to 1p

Friday: 12p to 3p

Vice President: Miss Essence Bennett 
Phone: (410) 951-1242

Monday: 11a to 2p

Wednesday: 1p to 5p

Friday: 11a to 2p

Secretary: Miss Essence Vinson 
Phone: (410) 951-1248

Monday: 8a to 9:45a

Tuesday: 8a to 10:45a

Wednesday: 8a to 9:45a

Thursday: 8a to 9:45a

Business Manager: Miss Alexis Sullivan
Phone: (410) 951-1248

Monday: 2p to 4:30p

Tuesday: 12p to 2p and 3:30p to 5:30p

Wednesday: 2p to 4:30p

Thursday: 12p to 2p and 3:30p to 5:30p

Chief of Staff: Miss Da'Nai Bennett
Phone: (410) 951-1248

Monday: 4p to 7p

Tuesday: 11a to 2p

Wednesday: 5p to 7p

Friday: 5p to 7p

Chief Justice: Miss Monae Myers
Phone: (410) 951-1248

Appointment Only